• Error loading feed data
Monday, 17 February 2020 14:46

Men’s Team Canada 2020 Featured

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The National Ball Hockey Association of Canada is once again pleased to announce the 2020 Men’s Team Canada ball hockey team roster that will represent Canada at the World Ball Hockey Championships in Nitra, Slovakia.


Held every two years, the World Ball Hockey Championships showcases the best men’s ball hockey players in the World.  Men’s Team Canada returns to attempt to win back the gold as the Czech Republic are the defending champions.


Leading the 2020 team will be General Manager and Head Coach Mauro Cugini, assisted by PJ Moore along with Amanda Spence, Registered Massage Therapist and Matthew Clark, Equipment Manager.


The team selection led by GM Cugini and his team of staff and scouts, and all players have been evaluated throughout the ball hockey season including league games, Provincial Championships and the Canada Cup tournament.


“We are excited about the players we have named to Team Canada. We have 12 news players from the 2018 team and have a good blend of experience and youth with seven Junior Team Canada alumni.  Our strength is from the back end returning the best two goalies in the nation and we are bigger and more athletic than in previous years on the back end.  Up front the team will be able to run with anyone and still play a strong defensive game.  The selection process was extremely difficult, but I believe we have a team that is highly skilled and will push the pace at the World Championships and will once again battle for the Championship,” said Cugini.


Cugini continued, “The team will gather for practices in June for a two-day camp prior to flying over to Slovakia so to allow players to familiarize themselves with what we would like to do as a team, but more importantly to have the players get to know one another and come together as a team.  We are aware we have a target on our backs; every year the World teams continue to get better and stronger, and when playing against Team Canada, we know we will always get the other teams best game.  But in the end, we are representing Canada Ball Hockey, we will set our goals high, and with our preparation, our work ethic, and our attention to detail that will get us to where we want to be.” 


Commenting on the 2020 men’s team selection, JTC Director, Scott Jacobi,”it is good to see the JTC alumni selected to the Men’s team showing the strength of the Junior program.”


National High Performance Director adds, “we have a Mission Statement - To prepare and assemble a team of the Country’s best ball hockey players to compete for gold at the WC. To field a team that sets extraor­dinary standards for competitiveness, sportsmanship and team continuity. To create a ‘life experience’ for the members of the TC and the officials.” 


Ball Hockey is an amazing sport and these men are truly fortunate to have the opportunity to compete with the best in the world and absorb the culture of each European host city” Dockerty concluded with “The ultimate goal is to ensure each player has a life experience that he can take with him for years to come.  We are pleased with the scouting, selec­tion and acceptance of the players chosen for the team.’


“Having spoken to all members of the coaching staff throughout this process, I am confident that the work that they have put in will translate into a highly satisfying trip along with a good showing on the floor.” said Dockerty. 


“On behalf of the National Ball Hockey Association of Canada, I would like to congratulate the players and staff named today, along with their leagues, club teams, families, coaches and officials who have helped them along the way,” said Stephen Dockerty, High Performance Director.  With that said, it is with great pride that we present you the 2020 Men’s Team Canada:  


Goalies: David DiGironimo, Paul Zarnett   


Defensemen: Austin Blais, David Crossman, Jaisen Gill, Mackenzie McHugh, Nick Pope,Samuel Provençal, Jack Scanlan and Brian Szolga   


Forwards: Luke Baleshta, Andrew Boyle, Kristopher Dobinson, Evan Foley,Munavar Hamdani, JP Harvey, Pat Millington, Nicolas Parker, Jacob Robitaille, Daniel Setacci, Andrew Stewart and Eric Tardif  


Your Passion…Your Dedication…Play Like A Champion…Play Like Team Canada…Commit To The Culture of Excellence….We Are Canada


#wbhf2020nitra #LetsGo #WeReady #BeGreat #WeAreTeamCanada #BeTheStandard


Read 6941 times Last modified on Monday, 17 February 2020 17:40